Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the policy-making and long range planning body of the school. The Board also oversees the budget and supervises the work of the Executive Director.  

According to charter school law and the Bylaws of Community of Peace Academy, three teachers, three parents and three community members sit on the Board of Directors. All Directors serve three-year terms. The Board meets monthly and committee work is also required of Directors.

The Executive Director is hired and supervised by the Board, and is a permanent non-voting member.

Board of Directors

Name Title Member Type
Term Expiration
Jennifer Baker Chair Teacher June 2019
Courtney Humm Director Community Member June 2020

Margaret Pitsenbarger

Treasurer Teacher June 2021
Angela Sizer Secretary Community Member June 2019
Mary Davis Director Parent June 2021
Charley Swanson Director Parent June 2020
Orobosa Ero Director Parent June 2021

Kevin Keto

Director Teacher June 2021

Carol Weissenborn

Vice Chair Community Member June 2019
Non-voting Members
Cara Quinn Executive Director
Tim McGowan 7-12 Principal
Bao Vang Elementary Principal

Election Process

Elections are run according to the Bylaws of Community of Peace Academy and in compliance with laws governing non-profit charter school boards in the State of Minnesota.  All teachers and parent/mentors are eligible to serve on the Board of Directors and receive notice of openings each year.  Teachers and parents who are interested in serving on the Board are asked to submit their names and a brief statement of intent to the Board Nominating Committee by April 1st.

Board Meetings

Board meetings are open meetings; parents and members of the public are welcome to attend. Meeting dates are published on the school calendar and on the school website. As a rule, Board meetings are held from 6:00pm-8:00pm in the Community of Peace Academy Conference Room on the second Monday of each month, August through June. Board meeting minutes are published on the school website following Board approval.

The Community of Peace Academy website is the official notice board for District #4015. All notices regarding official Board business will be posted here.

Board Meeting Minutes

Aug 13, 2018 Sep 10, 2018 Oct 8, 2018
Nov 19, 2018 Dec 10 2018 Jan 14, 2019
Feb 11, 2019 March 18, 2019 April 15, 2019
May 13, 2019 June 10, 2019
Aug 14, 2017 Sep 11, 2017 Oct 9, 2017
Nov 13, 2017 Dec 11, 2017 Jan 8, 2018
Feb 12, 2018 March 12, 2018 April 9, 2018
May 14, 2018 May 17, 2018 June 11, 2018 

Building Company Members/Minutes

The Community of Peace Building Company (the Building Company) is a Minnesota nonprofit organization classified by the Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization, that owns the CPA school building and leases it to the Academy, in accordance with MN Statutes 124E.13 Subd. 3, 7a. Affiliated nonprofit building corporation.

Building Company Members

Ex-Officio Member: Cara Quinn
Executive Director
Member: Charley Swanson
Member of the CPA Board of Directors
Member: Jennifer Baker
Chair of the CPA Board of Directors
Member: Margaret Pitsenbarger
Treasurer of the CPA Board of Directors

Building Company Meeting Minutes


August 4, 2018

October 30, 2018

November 12, 2018

Jan. 29, 2018

Feb. 23, 2018

May 11, 2018

June 15, 2018

Oct 8, 2015

Apr 10, 2015